Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Half of Us

TITLE: The Half of Us

 

AUTHOR: Cardeno C
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
YEAR: October 2014
LENGTH: 206 pages
GENRE: M/M contemporary romance
HEAT LEVEL: Adult only, erotic
RATING: 5 out of 5

REVIEW:

Ye gods, these two guys are hot together! It’s no secret that I love this series, and Book Four is just as good as the rest of them.

Jason starts out a little bit clueless and a lot self-centered, while Abe is sweet and out of his element when it comes to the sexy doctor he meets by chance. They end up at Abe’s place at the end of their first evening together, and once they get a taste of each other, there’s no going back.

Jason has an ex wife and a couple of kids, and he’s feeling distanced from all of them. Abe is exactly what Jase needs to get his head on straight and get his life in order. I love the fact that they just fit each other so perfectly, even though on the surface, they may seem worlds apart.

That’s one of CC’s great talents, though. She has a real gift for characterization, creating memorable personalities that take on a life of their own in the reader’s mind and heart. Even when her stories take a dramatic turn, she injects some humor into the situation, mixing the good with the bad until it feels just like real life. Honestly, I wouldn’t be surprised to meet any of these guys walking down the  street or in the grocery store. They’re that well-developed. And this is one of the few authors who never gives me fits with their grammatical errors. Believe me, that’s no small feat.

At this moment, The Half of Us is as far as the series goes. This makes me sad, but I still have a couple of Cardeno C. books that I won in contests at the end of the year. I’m spacing them out, so I don’t use up all of that scrumptious writing at once. Hopefully, by the time I’ve finished the books I already have, there will be new ones to buy. If Cardeno C. isn’t already on your auto-buy list, I have one question for you: why the hell not?!?

